We recognise and value the important role that Local Governance Committees play in supporting effective governance across the Trust and crucially, in supporting the improvement and success of academies rooted within their local communities.

The Local Governance Committees are advisory committees of the Trust Board and accountable to the Trust Board.  They contribute to the strategic direction and vision realisation of the Trust: Collectively Empowering Excellence. The Trust Board delegates responsibilities to the Local Governance Committees as is relevant and appropriate, to meet their particular expertise and collective needs.

The role of the Local Governance Committee is to support, inform, advise and challenge provision; working together, empowering excellence and improving outcomes for all children. Working with the Senior Team and Trust Board, Local Governance Committees are a local voice and a link with local communities and churches (Church Schools only) as well as being advocates for all Trust academies.

As ambassadors for the academies, Local Governance Committees can play a crucial role in enriching community relationships and communication; contributing to the collective effectiveness of academies and the Board of Trustees.

Dunsford Academy belongs to the Newton and Teign Hub. The Newton and Teign Hub governance is made up of Dunsford Academy and All Saints Marsh C of E Academy.

The Newton and Teign Hub governance committee members are shown below.

Local Ethos and Governance Committee – Register of Business Interests 2019 – 2020 

Committee Members:

Mrs Edwards - Head of All Saints Marsh Academy and ex officio

Mrs Guntrip - Head of Dunsford Academy and ex officio

Mrs Stephens - Executive Head and ex officio